Coach Education advances in Munster

December 5th 2012 by Jim Doran | International

Coach Education advances in Munster

The recent delivery of a Level 1 course in Limerick led by Cricket Ireland’s Coach Education Officer, Stephen Moreton, supported by James Doran and Ted Williamson was just one strand of the most extensive coach education programme to be rolled out in the MCU area to date.

“Cricket Ireland has significantly increased the number of coaching courses available to support the development of the game in Munster”, said Stephen Moreton, “ and there has been an excellent response across the province. Apart from the Level 1 course in Limerick, we have also delivered Introduction to Cricket courses in Limerick, Lismore, Co. Waterford, and Ardfert, Co. Kerry.”

Munster RDO and support tutor, James Doran commented that “It’s been great to have courses run in the Limerick, Lismore and Ardfert areas for the first time and have candidates from Nenagh CC and Kilcolman CC getting onto the coaching ladder for the first time”.

“It’s also very encouraging ”, Doran continued, “to see increases in the number of new coaches in clubs such as Co. Clare CC, Co. Galway CC, Co. Kerry CC, Limerick CC, Lismore CC, Midleton CC and Waterford District CC. Such an influx of newly-qualified coaches in Munster is not only very welcome but is integral for sustainable club development in the region”.
The Autumn 2012 MCU-area courses and candidates were as follows.

Lismore Introductory course: Jim Bryan (Lismore CC), Joe Jalill, Brandon McEvoy and Ciaran McGregor (Midleton CC), Glen Egerton, Billy McGuire, Dylan McGuire and Tony O’Hanlon (Waterford District CC)

Limerick Introductory course: Jeremy Mace, Rajvinder Singh and Ranjit Singh (Co. Clare CC), Mark Southern (Limerick CC), Ginson Abraham, Naoise Burke, Jojin Matthew, Bevin Saiju, (Nenagh CC) Mike Hogan (St, Flannan’s College, Ennis).

Kerry Introductory Course: Bert Daley, Darragh Lynch, Dave Ramsay and Ian Rutland (Co. Kerry CC), Jason Huntley (Kilcolman CC).

Limerick Level 1course:  Jeremy Mace, John McDonnell and Ranjit Singh (Co. Clare CC), Nitin Bindal, Cillian Browne and Ronan (Co. Galway CC), Dave Ramsay (Co. Kerry CC), Nigel Aspinall and Shane Burke (Limerick CC), Jim Bryan (Lismore CC), Joe Jalill and Andrew Levis (Midleton CC), Dylan McGuire (Waterford District CC).

Read Next