Danske Bank North West Senior Cup Draw 2013

December 6th 2012 | Other


Holders Donemana will start their defence of the NW senior cup with a home tie against fierce rivals Limavady.

The two were first out of their hat as the draw for the 2013 Danske Bank NW Senior Cup was made live on BBC Radio Foyle today.

The Holm side completed a domestic clean sweep last season winning all four NW competitions, but they would have been hoping for an easier tie than Limavady, who have won the cup seven times since 1997.

Strabane, who last won the cup in 1993 face 94 winners Ardmore - this is a repeat of the 1967 final - the first to be played with limited overs.

2011 winners Bready face a tricky looking encounter away at Bonds Glen, while there’s an all Senior One clash with Coleraine, who have won the cup just once - 1986, facing an Eglinton side who last collected the famous trophy in 2006.

Glendermott, whose solitary success came in 2005 entertain St Johnston, who were the last Senior Two side to win way back in 1975. The Donegal side last tasted victory in the final 30 years ago in 1982, when Ian Rankin scored 167 - still the highest individual score in the final.

Drummond have home advantage against Burndennett, while Creevedonnell will be hoping for an upset when they host Fox Lodge.
2010 winners, and current Ulster Cup holders Brigade will be strong favourites to progress after being drawn at home to Sion Mills, whose last win in the tournament came way back in 1983 when their team contained West Indian professional Mark Harper.

The draw in full is as follows:
Donemana v Limavady
Drummond v Burndennett
Glendermott v St Johnston
Strabane v Ardmore
Bonds Glen v Bready
Coleraine v Eglinton
Brigade v Sion Mills
Creevedonnell v Fox Lodge

Ties will be played Saturday May 25.

The home teams were drawn by David Bradley (NW Cricket Operations Director) and the away teams by Andrew Fleming (NW President). Gareth Donaghey (NW Fixture Secretary) oversaw the draw.

Read Next