Ireland Name Under 17’s for Dutch Challenge

July 5th 2013 by Cricket Ireland | International


Ireland Name Under 17’s for Dutch Challenge

Rishi Chopra will skipper the Ireland Under 17’s as they embark on their ICC European Regional Challenge Series campaign.

Ireland are the defending champions, and have named a strong squad for the games against The Netherlands in Cork from July 16-18.

The teams will play two 50 over contests on July 16 and 17, before concluding with a T20 contest.
Ireland manager John Semple believes there is enough quality within the squad to clinch the title again:“It is a strong team with great depth as well as quality throughout.

“The bowling looks particularly strong with quality spinners and an excellent pace attack.

“The top six batters have good technique and are all playing senior cricket which is always a good sign for any youth squad.”

The squad in full is as follows:

Rishi Chopra (captain) (Coleraine), Mark Adair (CSNI), Ross Allen (Eglinton), Rory Anders (Phoenix), Sonny Cott (Pembroke), Adam Dennison (Waringstown), Andrew Forbes (Instonians), Aaron Gillespie (Strabane), Michael Hogan (Terenure), Ruadhan Jones (Cork Harlequins), Gary McClintock (Donemana), Jamie Millar (Eglinton), Jack Tector (YMCA). Ted Williamson (coach), John Semple (Manager/asst coach), Tim Simmonite (Asst coach).

Read Next