Ireland Women’s Energy Boost ahead of World T20 opener

November 9th 2018 | International, Women

Ireland Women’s Energy Boost ahead of World T20 opener

Hanley Energy sign sponsorship extension for two more years

The Ireland Women’s cricket team have received welcome news that their major sponsor, Hanley Energy, has agreed to extend its sponsorship of the national team for a further two years.

On the cusp of their first Group Stage match at the ICC Women’s World T20 tournament, the news provides a vote of confidence about the future of women’s cricket in Ireland, and is reward for the hard work, success and dedication of the squad over many years.

Clive Gilmore, CEO of Hanley Energy, said:

“We are delighted to continue our sponsorship of the Irish Women’s International cricket team for the third year running. Hanley Energy wishes this talented squad every well-deserved success in the forthcoming T20 World Cup.”

Dennis Cousins, Commercial Director of Cricket Ireland, said:

“We’re always delighted when a long-term sponsor signs an extension. It gives a real sense that they believe in the team, that they see a positive future and that each party’s values are aligned.”

“Hanley Energy is a progressive thinking company, and obviously with the upswing of interest and engagement with women’s sport in Ireland, this is a great time to be involved.”

“It is the support of generous sponsors like Hanley Energy that has allowed us to increase our investment in the national team and its support structures. If we are to grow the game here in Ireland, we need a solid base of sponsor support, and for this reason the news should provide a boost to all within the game.”

The ICC World T20 tournament schedule – Ireland

Group Stage

• 11 November: Australia v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)
• 13 November: Pakistan v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)
• 15 November: India v Ireland, Guyana (15:00 GMT)
• 17 November: New Zealand v Ireland, Guyana (20:00 GMT)


• 22 November: First semi-final, Antigua (20:00 GMT)
• 22 November: Second semi-final, Antigua (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 23 Nov)
• 24 November: Final, Antigua (d/n) (00:00 GMT, 25 Nov)

All matches will be broadcast on Sky Sports in Ireland / UK.


Read Next