Kane leads Ireland Under 19’s in crucial World Cup Qualifiers

July 4th 2013 by Cricket Ireland | International

Kane leads Ireland Under 19’s in crucial World Cup Qualifiers

Tyrone Kane will skipper the Ireland Under 19 squad in The Netherlands next month as they attempt to qualify for the 2014 ICC Under 19 World Cup.

The Merrion all-rounder is one of four survivors from the 2012 Under 19 World Cup in Australia, alongside Scott Campbell, Ben Wylie and Alistair Shields.

At the other end of the scale, the Irish selectors have chosen the highly rated 15 year-old Phoenix fast bowler Rory Anders.

The selection panel composed former internationals Alan Lewis, Junior McBrine, and Ryan Eagleson - who also coaches the side - with manager Brian O’Rourke and National coach Phil Simmons.

Eagleson is well aware of the importance of the six-team competition, which is being held in Holland between August 2-8.

“The World Cup qualifying tournament in Holland is a hugely important one for Cricket Ireland as only the winner will qualify for the 2014 World Cup. In the past there has been the safety net of a global tournament with the top six qualifying so it’s very much a case of winner takes all.

“There’s a good balance to the side which is packed with talented all-rounders. All the players are playing senior cricket for their club sides and turning in consistent performances which augurs well for August.

“The squad will have three training camps in the month of July to help prepare, and we also have a match against the Ulster Grasshoppers at Warinsgtown on the 30th of July. We’ve just beaten the MCC who had Australian Test player Pat Cummins in their team, and the Irish Schools side as well in warm-up games.”

Ireland will compete with hosts Netherlands, Scotland, Denmark, Jersey and Guernsey for the one qualification place on offer.

The squad in full is as follows:

Tyrone Kane (captain) (Merrion), Mark Adair (CSNI), Rory Anders (Phoenix), David Barr (Bready), Scott Campbell (Coleraine), Rishi Chopra (Coleraine), Peter Chase (Malahide), Lee Cole (YMCA), Peter Eakin (North Down), James McCollum (Lurgan), Robert McKinley (Ballymena), Cormac McLoughlin (The Hills), Alistair Shields (North Down), Ben Wylie (Instonians).

Read Next