Lightning & Warriors announce squads for Championship

May 9th 2013 by Cricket Ireland | International


Lightning & Warriors announce squads for Championship

The Lightning squad that won on Monday © Joe Curtis

Two professionals named in North West Squad whilst Pat Collins and Bill Coghlan are called in for Leinster.

North West Warriors will make their debut in the RSA Inter-Provincial Series next week in the three day RSA Inter-Provincial Championships match against the Leinster Lightning.

The Warriors have named a strong squad with several Ireland Under 19 representatives joined by the experience of Niall McDonnell, Iftikhar Hussain and Andrew Riddles. Stuart Thompson was unavailable due to exams while Andrew Britton had work commitments. The squad is also joined by two professionals in the shape of South African Romano Ramoo from Bready and Pakistani Kamran Sajjid from Donemana.

The Lightning make two changes from the side which beat the Northern Knights in the first 50 over match on Monday with coach Trent Johnston standing aside and Andrew Balbirnie not available due to exams. They’ve been replaced by Pat Collins, fresh from scoring a hundred and taking a seven-for for Railway Union against Phoenix and 2012 Division 1 leading run scorer Bill Coghlan.

North West Warriors

Iftikhar Hussain (captain)
David Barr
Scott Campbell
Peter Connell
R-L Dougherty
Andy McBrine
Niall McDonnell
Romano Ramoo
David Rankin
Andrew Riddles
Kamran Sajjid
Johnny Thompson

Leinster Lightning

Kevin O’Brien (captain)
Ben Ackland
John Anderson
Bill Coghlan
Patrick Collins
Alex Cusack
Tyrone Kane
Fintan McAllister
Andrew Poynter
Eddie Richardson
Max Sorensen
Albert van der Merwe

Read Next