Northern Cricket Union Under 17 and Women’s squads announced

June 25th 2017 by Cricket Ireland | Women, Youth, Other

Northern Cricket Union Under 17 and Women’s squads announced

The Northern Cricket Union (NCU) has announced their Under 17 squad for a tour to Ipswich and St. Albans, England, from Monday 26th to Thursday 29th of June 2017. Meanwhile, the NCU has also named a Women’s team, captained by Hannah Grieve, to play against a Carrickfergus Select XI, at Middle Road, Carrickfergus (6pm), in a friendly fixture (Twenty20), on Tuesday 27th June.

The NCU U17 squad, led by Uel Graham and Nigel Joenes, will play against St. Joseph’s School, Ipswich, and then four Twenty20 matches in the prestigious St. Albans Cricket Festival. Tour Manager Uel Graham said, “The squad selection has been impacted due to the Ulster Schools game against Leinster Schools at the same time, and holiday commitments. However, this gives other players the opportunity to represent the NCU, sample some high quality cricket and press claims for Inter-Provincial selection. The NCU is grateful to former Cliftonville player and Irish International Mark Patterson for helping to organise the tour, and to former Essex and England seam bowler Mark Illott for the return invitation to the St Albans Festival’. The squad for the 2017 Irish Inter-Provincial series will be selected by June 30th.

NCU Under 17 Squad and Itinerary
• Johnny Browne (Ballymena)

• Adam Clarke (Templepatrick)

• Rohan Drawid (CSNI)

• John Glass (Ballymena)

• Daniel Humphreys (Instonians)

• James McClean (Ballymena)

• Tom McCord (Cliftonville)

• Adam Reid (Saintfield)

• Jack Buchanan-Rolleston (Carrickfergus)

• Ben Rose (Instonians)

• Charlie Shannon (Holywood)

• Jonathan Waite (Waringstown)

• Harry Warke (Carrickfergus)


• Tuesday 27th June - NCU Under 17’s v St Joseph’s School, Ipswich (40 Overs)

• Wednesday 28th and Thursday 29th June - St. Albans Cricket Festival (Four Twenty20 Matches)

NCU Women’s Team, Carrickfegus Select XI in Twenty20 fixture, Tuesday 27th June, 6pm

• Hannah Grieve (Lurgan) Captain

• Laura Campbell (North Down)

• Alison Cowan (CSNI) Wicket Keeper

• Becky Hall (Muckamore)

• Jennifer Hannah (Donaghcloney Mill)

• Jane Kilkpatrick (Lurgan)

• Abbi Leckey (CSNI)

• Charlotte Lyons (Waringstown)

• Staci Maxwell (North Down)

• Cara Murray (Waringstown)

• Beth McCrea (Templepatrick)

• Chloe Neville (Lurgan)

Read Next