RSA Irish Senior Cup to be launched next Thursday

December 7th 2012 by Cricket Ireland | International


RSA Irish Senior Cup to be launched next Thursday

The Hills will be aiming to retain their trophy

The first round draw for the RSA Irish Senior Cup will be held next Thursday, December 13th at 2pm in RSA Insurance Headquarters in Dundrum, Dublin where RSA will announce their sponsorship of the premier club cricket competition in Ireland.

The RSA Irish Senior Cup will see 34 teams from across Ireland vie for the crown of champions of Ireland. The competition, now in its 32nd year and formerly known as the Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup, will see the first round played on May the 11th next year.

The two finalists in the RSA Irish Senior Cup will play off for the Bob Kerr Trophy, which the winning captain will raise in the final on Saturday the 24th of August.

The draw will be conducted by Cricket Ireland President Arthur Vincent and Philip Smith, CEO, RSA Insurance Ireland. Also present will be players from both of last year’s finalists The Hills and Merrion.

The draw will be carried live on the official Cricket Ireland website and also via the Cricket Ireland Twitter account @Irelandcricket

The draw for the 2013 RSA National Cup will also be performed next week. The following teams have been entered into the competitions by their respective Unions:

RSA Irish Senior Cup

NW teams - Donemana, Brigade, Eglinton, Fox Lodge, Glendermott, Bready, Strabane, Limavady, Coleraine, Bonds Glen.

LCU teams - Leinster, Merrion, North County, Pembroke, Phoenix, Railway Union, The Hills, YMCA, Malahide/Clontarf*, Rush/Terenure*.     

NCU teams - CIYMS, Instonians, North Down, CSNI, Waringstown, Lisburn, Ballymena, Carrickfergus, Lurgan, Downpatrick.

MCU teams - Cork Harlequins, Cork County

*preliminary ties to be played to decide final two LCU representatives.

RSA National Cup

NW teams - Creevedonnell, Drummond, St Johnston, Ardmore, Sion Mills, Burndennett, Killyclooney, Newbuildings.

LCU teams - Balbriggan, Civil Service, Laois, Mullingar, North Kildare, Dundrum, ISC Prelim Rd loser 1, ISC Prelim Rd loser 2.

NCU teams - Woodvale, Muckamore, Derriaghy, Dundrum, Cliftonville, Laurelvale, Templepatrick, Cooke Collegians.

Connacht teams - Co. Galway, Ballaghedereen, Co. Sligo, NUIG/Ballyhaunis/Riverstown/Ericsson’s Athlone**

MCU teams - Co. Clare, Midleton, Limerick Raiders, Munster Rep 4 tbc.

** 4th Connacht slot to be determined by virtue of pre season play-offs.

Read Next