Umpires and Scorers

Umpires and Scorers

Umpires, scorers and other match officials are crucial roles in the administration, development and growth of our game. The following information provides guidance on umpiring and scorers associations, umpiring panets and links to find out how you can get involved.

The Irish Association of Cricket Umpires and Scorers (IACUS) and Northern Ireland Association of Cricket Umpires (NIACUS) are the associations overseeing umpiring and scoring in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland respectively.

The Leinster Cricket Umpires & Scorers Association (LCU&SA) also exists to oversee these activities in the Leinster Cricket Union.

Umpiring Panels

A restructure of the Cricket Ireland Umpire Panels in 2019 saw the creation of a First-Class Panel of 11 umpires (four of which have been awarded full-time season contracts and will stand in the majority of Inter-Provincial Series matches), and Representative Panel of five umpires (who will stand primarily in the remainder of the representative fixture list).

International Panel
Alan Neill, Mark Hawthorne, Paul Reynolds, Roland Black. 

First-Class Panel
Alan Neill, Mark Hawthorne, Paul Reynolds, Roland Black (all IUP umpires) and, in addition, Azam Ali Baig, Gary Blair, Michael Foster, Jareth McCready, Aidan Seaver, Phil Thompson and Mary Waldron. 

Representative Panel
Howard Bingham, Laura Caughey, Jonathan Kennedy, Dessie Milne and Steve Wood.

Match Referees and Scorers

In 2019, funding was allocated for the appointment of a panel of up to six Match Referees, who are primarily responsible for Inter-Provincial matches, Super 3s and Wolves cricket. In addition to these six, our two existing ICC-level referees will be available where possible to these matches. Additionally, Cricket Ireland has increased match fees for all umpires, match referees and scorers from the start of the 2019 season.

Further information

- Guidance, advice and information from NIACUS
- Documents, advice and reports from LCU&SA