14-man squad named for the historic first Ireland Men’s Test Match

May 4th 2018 | International

14-man squad named for the historic first Ireland Men’s Test Match

Press conference.

Cricket Ireland today announced the 14-man squad for the historic first Ireland Men’s Test Match against Pakistan at a press conference today.

The Test Match will take place from 11-15 May 2018 at Malahide Cricket Club Ground in Dublin.

The 14-man squad is:

• William Porterfield (capt)
• Andrew Balbirnie
• Ed Joyce
• Tyrone Kane
• Andy McBrine
• Tim Murtagh
• Kevin O’Brien
• Niall O’Brien
• Boyd Rankin
• Nathan Smith
• Paul Stirling
• James Shannon
• Stuart Thompson
• Gary Wilson

The final playing eleven will be named on the morning of the Test Match (Friday 11 May 2018). Player profiles available below.
As announced last week, the broadcast package for the Test is in three parts:

• Sky Sports will broadcast ball-by-ball coverage in the Ireland and UK markets of the Test Match against Pakistan (11-15 May 2018).
• RTÉ Television will broadcast a 1-hour highlights package of every day’s play for the Test Match against Pakistan.
• Pitch International have sold the overseas television broadcast rights in a number of countries, across a number of networks including in key markets like the US, Canada, sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, south Asia and Australia.

Ball-by-ball radio broadcast will be announced shortly.

Pre-sale tickets are selling well, with online sales through Ticketmaster.

The Ireland Men’s national team is proudly supported by Turkish Airlines, whose support for Irish cricket has been featured in a new article in the May edition of Skylife (in-flight magazine).

Read Next