All you need to know about the Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier

September 9th 2022 by Craig Easdown | International, Women

All you need to know about the Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier

Ireland Women's first match is 18 September

The ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier starts on 18 September 2022, with Ireland’s first match against Bangladesh. Find out below how you can watch, follow or attend Ireland’s campaign.

The squad will fly to Dubai for a preparation camp from 10-14 September, playing a warm-up game against Papua New Guinea on the 13th.

The Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers consists of eight teams split into two groups of four teams, with the top two teams of each group playing in the semi-finals. The winner of each semi-final will qualify for the Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa, February 2023.

The group matches will be played between 18-21 September, with semi-finals (23rd September) and final (25th September).

The Groups are:


See the Group Standings table here.


Where to find the latest news

The official tournament information:

  • Website: link here
  • Fixtures: link here
  • Squads: link here

ICC channels:

  • Twitter: link here
  • Facebook: link here
  • Instagram: link here


Ireland Women’s fixtures

Official T20 World Cup Qualifier warm-up match (all times local)

  • 16 September 2022: Ireland v PNG – warm-up T20I (Tolerance Oval; 3pm start)

T20 World Cup Qualifier - Group Stage (all times local)

  • 18 September 2022: Ireland v Bangladesh (Zayed Cricket Stadium; 7pm start)
  • 19 September 2022: Ireland v USA (Tolerance Oval; 7pm start)
  • 21 September 2022: Ireland v Scotland (Tolerance Oval; 3pm start)

After finishing second in their group, Ireland moved to the semi-final:

  • 23 September 2022: Ireland v Zimbabwe (Zayed Cricket Stadium; 3pm start)


The Squad

Selectors have named a 15-player squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier:

Laura Delany (capt), Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Amy Hunter, Shauna Kavanagh, Arlene Kelly, Gaby Lewis, Sophie MacMahon, Jane Maguire, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Eimear Richardson, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.



Watch the games
All Ireland matches will be available to watch through

Follow the games
We will provide:
  • Livescoring: via our Match Centre
  • Twitter score updates: via Cricket Ireland’s Twitter page
  • Match reports: via our Cricket Ireland website at the end of each day

Attend the games
The Abu Dhabi Cricket website is here.


Keep up with our podcast

The Green Ball Podcast is all about Irish cricket…and will be a great resource for updates about the T20 World Cup Qualifier. Make sure you subscribe now in your favourite podcast app.
Green Ball Podcast



Read Next