All You Need To Know: Ireland Men v England Men ODI Series

September 17th 2023 by Gerard Mulreaney | International

All You Need To Know: Ireland Men v England Men ODI Series

Paul Stirling will captain the side

The Ireland Men’s ODI squad is currently in England for a three-match One-Day International (ODI) series against England - with matches set for Headingley, Trent Bridge and Bristol. Here’s all you need to know about the series.

Coming in

While Ireland Men missed out on qualification to the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup (which starts next month), the matches are still crucial to the Men in Green’s progress as they develop their approach to the 50-over game (and there are, of course, World Rankings points on the line).

Despite not achieving qualification to the 50-over World Cup, Ireland finished the tournament strongly, beating Nepal, USA and UAE.

Meanwhile, England defeated New Zealand 3-1 in a four-match ODI series in England earlier this month.


The Series

The matches will be played at three separate venues: Headingley (Leeds), Trent Bridge (Nottingham), and the Seat Unique Cricket Ground (Bristol) over a seven-day period.

  • 20 September: England Men v Ireland Men – 1st ODI (Headingley; start 12.30pm)
  • 23 September: England Men v Ireland Men – 2nd ODI (Trent Bridge; start 11am)
  • 26 September: England Men v Ireland Men – 3rd ODI (Bristol; start 12.30pm)

All three matches will be broadcast live on Sky Sports in both Ireland and the UK.

Follow the games via Cricket Ireland’s Match Centre.

The squads

Paul Stirling will captain the side and will open the batting with Andrew Balbirnie, while Curtis Campher will move up to number three. The selectors have also included uncapped spinning all-rounder Theo van Woerkom in the squad and Neil Rock returns to the squad as well. The full squad is:

Paul Stirling (capt), Mark Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Neil Rock, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Theo van Woerkom, Craig Young.

For England, Zak Crawley will captain the side for the first time, with Ben Duckett named as Vice-Captain. The squad also includes three uncapped players, Warwickshire batter Sam Hain, Surrey wicketkeeper-batter Jamie Smith, and Derbyshire paceman George Scrimshaw. The full squad is:

Zak Crawley (capt), Rehan Ahmed, Brydon Carse, Ben Duckett, Sam Hain, Will Jacks, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Joe Root, Phil Salt, George Scrimshaw, Jamie Smith, Luke Wood.


Read Next