Pakistan too strong for Ireland in tour opener

January 10th 2014 by Cricket Ireland | International

Pakistan too strong for Ireland in tour opener

The stunning stadium where all the matches will be played in Qatar

Ireland Women suffered a comprehensive 111 run defeat by Pakistan in their opening fixture of the Qatar International Tri-Series in Doha.

Debutant Jenny Gray had been the most successful of the Irish attack, claiming 3-40, while skipper Isobel Joyce bowled superbly to finish with figures of 2 for 20.

14 year Lucy O’Reilly (1-16) also impressed in the Pakistan total of 183 for 9 in their 50 overs.

The Irish fieded with great athleticism to restrict their Pakistan counterparts to just two boundaries in their innings, but coach Trent Johnston will have been disappointed with the concession of 51 extras - which included 38 wides and 10 no-balls.

Nahida Khan top scored with 36 for Pakistan, while Sanir Mir showed great patience in compiling her 23.

The Irish reply never really gathered any momentum, with only three players managing double figures in their total of 73 all out.

Experienced opener Clare Shillington top scored with 29, while Melissa Scott Hayward (16*) - earning her 50th cap - and Lucy O’Reilly (10) batted gamefully.

The Irish were undone by Sadia Yousuf (3-16), Sana Mir (2-9), and Asmavia Iqbal (2-16) who never relinquished their stranglehold on the contest.

Ireland have a chance to bounce back immediately when they face South Africa tomorrow (SAT) in the second game of the tournament. Action at the International West End Park gets under way at 1pm (local).

Qatar International Tri-Series, Doha,

PAKISTAN WOMEN 183/9 (50 overs, Nahida Khan 36, Sana Mir 23, Jenny Gray 3-40, Isobel Joyce 2-20) beat IRELAND WOMEN 73 all out (31 overs, Clare Shillington 29, Melissa Scott-Hayward 16*, Sadia Yousuf 3-16, Sana Mir 2-9, Asmavia Iqbal 2-16) by 110 runs.

Melissa Scott Hayward 50th Cap

Melissa Scott-Hayward being presented with her 50th cap by Ireland Women’s Coach Trent Johnston.

Women's Qatar Trophy

Isobel Joyce, Mignon du Preez and Sana Mir with the Trophy at yesterday’s tournament launch.

Read Next