Ireland Women lose warm-up match to Sri Lanka

March 20th 2014 by Cricket Ireland | International

Ireland Women lose warm-up match to Sri Lanka

Ireland Women began their final preparations for their first ever World Twenty20 tournament with their first warm-up match in Bangladesh against Sri Lanka this morning in Savar.

Ireland Women have lost their opening warm up match of the 2014 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in Bangladesh by 49 runs to Sri Lanka Women. Ireland coach Trent Johnston gave the majority of his squad a run-out in the heat and he won’t be displeased to have seen several promising efforts in the first run out for Ireland in the extreme local conditions.

Sri Lanka Women batted first with Ireland’s bowlers only able to collect two wickets in their 20 over innings, with Isobel Joyce and Elena Tice’s spin claiming a wicket each. There were not out fifties for Siriwardene and Rasangika as Sri Lanka posted 170 runs as they gave seven batters a knock with 3 players retiring.

Ireland Women batted their 20 overs in response to post 121 runs, Cecelia Joyce top scored for Ireland with 44 before she retired to give others some time in the middle. Melisssa Scott-Hayward scored quickly for 22 whilst Isobel Joyce, Elena Tice and Eimear Richardson all made double figures.

Next up for Ireland Women is another warm-up match, this time against India before facing into the tournament proper with their Group A fixtures starting against New Zealand next week.

To see the scorecard in full please click here.

Squad: Isobel Joyce (capt) (Merrion), Laura Delany (Leinster), Emma Flanagan (YMCA), Amy Kenealy (Leinster), Jennifer Gray (YMCA), Cecelia Joyce (Merrion), Louise McCarthy (Pembroke), Kate McKenna (Merrion), Lucy O’Reilly (YMCA), Eimear Richardson (Leinster), Rebecca Rolfe (Leinster,  Melissa Scott-Hayward (Merrion), Clare Shillington (Malahide), Elena Tice (Merrion), Mary Waldron (Malahide).


Ireland v Sri Lanka, warm-up, 20 March
Ireland v India, warm-up, 21 March

Group A
Ireland v New Zealand, 25 March
Ireland v Australia, 27 March
Ireland v South Africa, 29 March
Ireland v Pakistan, 31 March

Play-offs and final, 2-6 April

Ireland’s Squad of 15 in Bangladesh.

Read Next