Irish Universities look to retain Hone McGregor Trophy in Cambridge

June 19th 2018 by IUCA | International, Other

Irish Universities look to retain Hone McGregor Trophy in Cambridge

The squad heads to Cambridge to defend their title (image from IUCA Twitter)

Irish Universities have been once again been invited to take part in the annual Hone-McGregor Tri Series to taking place at the historic Fenner’s Ground in Cambridge this week. The Irish side will play Cambridge University and Scottish Universities in a triangular tournament of 50-overs games.

The IUCA Indoor Tournament took place in Belfast earlier this year, with entries from all over the country taking part. The eventual winners were National University of Ireland, Galway who retained the trophy.

The IUCA Outdoor Tournament took place in Dublin a few weeks ago with Dublin Institute of Technology winning the ‘Trevor West’ trophy for the 4th year in a row beating Ulster University in the Final in College Park by 85 runs.

Irish Universities Cricket Association team manager Herbie McClelland is pleased about his team’s chances in the challenge series:

‘I feel that we have a squad, who are prepared and ready to take on Cambridge University and Scottish Universities. I believe our squad can retain the silverware and bring them to our side of the Irish Sea after winning both trophies last year.’

The Irish Universities side can draw on several top-class cricketers, including representative players David Delany (Maynooth University/ Leinster Lightning), Gareth Delany (UCD/ Leinster Lightning), Rory Anders (DCU/Leinster Lightning) and Fiachra Tucker (UCD/ Leinster Lightning).

The Cambridge tournament takes place at Fenner’s, with the opening game between the hosts and Scottish Universities on 18 June.

Fixtures – Hone McGregor Tri Series

  • Monday 18 June – Cambridge University v Scottish Universities
  • Tuesday 19 June – Cambridge University v Irish Universities
  • Wednesday 20 June – Irish Universities v Scottish Universities

Irish Universities Squad

  • Jack Balbirnie (Dublin Institute of Technology & Pembroke) – Captain
  • Kashif Ali (Dublin City University & Balbriggan)
  • Rory Anders (Dublin City University & Phoenix)
  • Gareth Delany (University College Dublin & Leinster)
  • David Delany (Maynooth University & Clontarf)
  • Fiachra Tucker (University College Dublin & Pembroke)
  • Ross Bryans (Ulster University & Templepatrick)
  • Peter Ferguson (Ulster University & Lisburn)
  • Michael Cotter (Dublin Institute of Technology & Terenure)
  • AJ Moor (Trinity College Dublin & Balbriggan)
  • Andrew Blair-White (Dublin Institute of Technology & YMCA)

You can follow updates from the matches via IUCA’s Twitter: @irishunicricket


Read Next