ITW Irish Cricket Awards 2021 winners

February 27th 2021 by Craig Easdown | International, Other

ITW Irish Cricket Awards 2021 winners

DUBLIN – Paul Stirling and Kim Garth were announced the men’s and women’s International Player of the Decade respectively amongst the 14 categories of awards handed out at the ITW Irish Cricket Awards 2021.

The event was broadcast via Youtube and was hosted by sports journalist and broadcaster Marie Crowe, supported by RTE’s John Kenny and former Ireland Men’s captain Kyle McCallan. Viewers were treated with interviews with each winner, and a heartfelt tribute to the late Roy Torrens, which featured contributions from former Irish coaches Adi Birrell and Phil Simmons.

Each winner will receive an engraved award designed to the iconic Irish brand, Waterford – an organisation that is proudly extending its generational links with cricket.

Watch the full show




ITW International Player of the Decade – Men

  • Winner: Paul Stirling
  • Shortlist: Ed Joyce, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, William Porterfield, Paul Stirling



Hanley Energy International Player of the Decade – Women

  • Winner: Kim Garth
  • Shortlist: Laura Delany, Kim Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Clare Shillington



ITW International Men’s Player of the Year

  • Winner: Paul Stirling
  • Runners-up: Andrew Balbirnie, Craig Young


Test Triangle Inter-Provincial Player of the Year

  • Winner: Simi Singh


Arachas Super Series Player of the Year

  • Winner: Laura Delany


Tildenet Club of the Year

  • Winner: Limerick Cricket Club
  • Shortlist: Limerick Cricket Club, Newbuildings Cricket Club, North Down Cricket Club, YMCA Cricket Club


O’Neill’s Club Male Player of the Year

  • Winner: John Anderson
  • Shortlist: John Anderson, Chris Dougherty, Gareth McKeegan, Swaroop Burra



O’Neill’s Club Female Player of the Year

  • Winner: Alana Dalzell
  • Shortlist: Alana Dalzell, Charlotte Lyons, Rebecca Stokell



Gibney’s Outstanding Contribution and Service to Irish Cricket

  • Winner: Roy Torrens


Clear Currency Volunteering Excellence Award

  • Winner: Michael Hickey


Techfynder Cricket Official of the Year

  • Winner: Ian Houston


Shapoorji Pallonji Outstanding Contribution to Coaching

  • Winner: Brían O’Rourke



Turkish Airlines Special Jury Award – Spirit of Cricket Award

• Winner: Bready Cricket Club
• Shortlist: Bready Cricket Club, Kerry Cricket Club, North Down Cricket Club, Pembroke Cricket Club


Hall of fame

Three inductees were announced in the Cricket Writers’ of Ireland Hall of Fame. Find out more.


General Award Judging Panel:
  • Aideen Rice, Ger Siggins, Ian Callender, Peter McCartney, Angela Platt, Philip Smith, Joe Moynihan

Expert Juries – Players of the Decade:
  • Men’s Award: Peter Gillespie, Alan Lewis, Kyle McCallan, Andrew White
  • Women’s Award: Carrie Archer, Miriam Grealey, Barbara McDonald, Rob O’Connor


Read Next