Leinster Lightning record emphatic win over Northern Knights

June 22nd 2013 by Cricket Ireland |

Leinster Lightning record emphatic win over Northern Knights

Pat Collins and Barry McCarthy inspired Leinster Lightning to a comfortable 58 runs win over Northern Knights to record their second win of the day in the RSA T20 Trophy game at Sydney Parade.

Collins scored a Man of the Match 66 from 54 balls (7 fours, 1 six) as Leinster racked up an imposing 177 for 4 in their 20 overs.

The Railway Union opener shared an opening stand of 65 in just 6.2 overs with Bill Coghlan (27) as Leinster exploded out of the blocks against a shell-shocked Northern Knights side who had asked their hosts to bat on winning the toss.

Knights skipper Andrew White (2-24) stemmed the flow of runs by dismissing Coghlan and Cusack (7) in quick succession. His figures were ruined somewhat by conceding 17 runs from his final over, with Collins and Andrew Poynter (17) doing the damage.

David Simpson dismissed Poynter for 11 and did well enough to concede just 11 runs from the two overs he was asked to bowl. Surprisingly he didn’t get a third and Lightning skipper Kevin O’Brien and John Mooney put the game out of reach with a strong finish.

The two Irish internationals added 37 from the last 12 balls with O’Brien striking an unbeaten 32 from just 15 balls (3 fours, 2 sixes) while Mooney found his range immediately to strike 19 not out from just seven deliveries (2 sixes).

In reply, Barry McCarthy (3-24) removed Nigel Jones (22), Johnny Terrett (8), and James Shannon (15) in quick succession to put Leinster firmly in control.

Greg Thompson, the youngest Irish international before Eoin Morgan came along, showed his prowess with the bat with a quickfire 33 from 23 balls (3 fours, 1 six) before becoming one of Alex Cusack’s three victims.

Albert van der Merwe (2-21) dismissed Lee Nelson and Nikolai Smith in successive deliveries, and despite a brief flurry from David Simpson (14*), the Knights were all out for 119 with seven balls unused, as Eddie Richardson (2-18) bowled Phil Eaglestone.

The next T20 action will be at Comber on Tuesday July 16, brought forward from the original date of September 22nd at the same venue.

Before then Leinster Lightning and Northern Knights clash in the RSA Inter-Provincial Championship three-day game at College Park, Trinity College, starting next Tuesday June 25 (11am).

The scorecard and tables for the series can be found by clicking here.

Read Next