North West Warriors cruise to title with big win over Leinster Lightning

September 19th 2021 by Craig Easdown | International

North West Warriors cruise to title with big win over Leinster Lightning

The trophy-winning North West Warriors

COMBER – The North West Warriors have won the 2021 Inter-Provincial T20 Trophy with a comprehensive 8-wicket win over Leinster Lightning today at Comber.

Having won the toss, the North West Warriors made great use of a tricky pitch with a flurry of early wickets – led by Player of the Match Conor Olphert who took 2-5 in the first powerplay. Kevin O’Brien was the only top-order batter who made it into double figures, but just when he was seeking to counter-attack, he fell for 23 off the bowling of Kennedy (2-14) and the Lightning innings collapsed to 59-8 after 14 overs.

Tailenders Gavin Hoey (37 off 28 balls) and Josh little (19* off 19 balls) came to the crease and the pair put on a potentially matching saving partnership of 53 at a rate of just over 9 an over to drag the Lightning to 113-9.

Needing a positive start to set the tone for the run chase, the Warriors Stephen Doheny (17) and William Porterfield (39*) put on 30 in the first 5 overs, but the loss of Doheny only propelled the Warriors run rate forward with Andy McBrine striking 24 off 19 balls, including two sixes. McBrine fell late on, but Porterfield and Shane Getkate (26* off 12 balls) saw the Warriors home by 8 wickets – and became deserved winners of this year’s competition.


Leinster Lightning v North West Warriors, IP20 Festival Game 6, Comber, 19 September 2021

  Leinster Lightning 113-9 (20 overs; G Hoey 37, K O’Brien 23; C Olphert 3-27, G Kennedy 2-14)
  North West Warriors 119-2 (13.5 overs; W Porterfield 39*, S Getkate 26*, A McBrine 24; D O’Halloran 1-13) 

North West Warriors won by 8 wickets

(see scorecard)

Earlier in the day, the Northern Knights won a reduced-overs affair over the Munster Reds by 9 wickets to finish second on the table. The Knights bowlers restricted the dangerous Reds batting attack to 72-5 from their 10 overs, then chased down the target in less than 8 overs thanks to an unbeaten 54 from 27 balls by Ross Adair.



Munster Reds v Northern Knights, IP20 Trophy, Comber, 19 September 2021

  Munster Reds 72-5 (10 overs; M Ford 21; B White 2-3, R Pretorius 1-15)
  Northern Knights 74-1 (7.4 overs; R Adair 54*; M Frost 1-13) 

Northern Knights won by 9 wickets  

(see scorecard)


Read Next