Reigning champions crash out of both Irish Senior Cup and National Cup

June 6th 2023 by Gerard Mulreaney | International, Other

Reigning champions crash out of both Irish Senior Cup and National Cup

Two reigning champions bow out

DUBLIN – There were shocks aplenty in the Arachas Irish Senior Cup and Arachas National Cup on Sunday, with the reigning champions in both competitions knocked out at the second round stage. There was also some headline grabbing performances throughout both competitions as clubs sealed their place in the cup quarter-finals.

The scorecards from most of the games can be found here (just filter the ‘Results’ tab by competition).

Highlights from the Arachas Irish Senior Cup

Leinster beat the holders CIYMS in a thriller in Rathmines, as they lost their second match in the space of 24 hours. Despite John Matchett’s 107 off 113 balls, both Joey Carroll (52) and Monil Patel (74) top scored with the bat Leinster, while Peter Francis was the best of their bowlers with 3-19 as they won by 45 runs.

The top-order of Nikolai Smith (48), Rob McKinley (51) and Cade Carmichael (43) helped Instonians dump 2022 runners-up Lisburn out of this year’s competition as they won by six wickets as Shaw’s Bridge. Lisburn had been restricted to 165, after some brilliant bowling that saw Shane Dadswell take a five-fer (5-31).

A century from JJ Garth, his second in two days against the same opposition, ensured a safe passage into the quarter-finals for Pembroke as they comfortably beat Cork County by 249 runs at The Mardyke.

A unbeaten half-century from Morgan Topping (71* off 95 balls) saw six-time Irish Senior Cup champions Waringstown post 214-8 as the villagers beat Clontarf by 29 runs at The Lawn.

A Mark Donegan century (108 off 82 balls) was enough for The Hills as they were big 179-run victors over Carrickfergus.

Balbriggan kept up their winning sequence with a 34-run win over Railway Union. A ninth-wicket partnership of 106 between Mark Pollard and Kashif Ali complimented an earlier one of 73 by Chris DeFreitas and Greg Ford, as Balbriggan posted 252 all out. Railway Union started well with 60 from Ashil Prakash, but with partnerships hard to come by down the order they could only manage to reach 218 before being bowled out with five balls remaining.

In the day’s other matches Phoenix beat North Down by five wickets in Comber. A fourth-wicket partnership of 77 between Peter Eakin and Ryan Haire, along with a near run a ball from Jacob Mulder saw North Down post 220-8. However, 78 from Jed Wiggins in solid partnerships with both Callum O’Byrne and Tyrone Kane, of 63 and 74 saw Phoenix home with five wickets to spare. While the game between YMCA and Merrion at Clermont Road had to be abandoned due to an unplayable pitch.


Highlights from the Arachas National Cup

South African batter Blayde Capell, whose bat has been extremely hot of late, continued that streak with a century for Killyclooney against Leinster’s Civil Service. He finished on 136 off just 99 balls.

Centuries from both Patrick Kruger (182) and Jamie Magowan (144), in a phenomenal 312-run fourth wicket stand for Derriaghy as they beat Burndennett by 197 runs in Queensway.

Centuries for Cliftonville Academy pair Jared Wilson (129) and Francis Collins (101) as they beat Athlone by 142 runs at the Castle Grounds.

A 146-run opening stand between David MacBeth and Graeme McCarter saw St Johnston post 300-5. David Lapsley also chipped in with his own half-century, while David Barnard took 4-53 with the ball as they beat Ballyspallen by 67 runs.

In the day’s other matches reigning champions North County were comprehensively beaten by 110 runs by Dublin rivals Rush at Inch. Half-centuries from both Llewelyn Johnson and Jack McGee proving vital in the victory.

In a low scoring game at Moylena, Muckamore were bowled out for just 142, with North Kildare’s Husnain Maroof the star - taking a five-fer (5-38), including an incredible hat-trick in the seventh over. Despite that, Muckamore bounced back and progressed to the quarter-finals as their bowling unit restricted North Kildare to just 124 in the space of 35 overs to win by 18 runs.

Limerick were seven wickets winners over Cregagh in Adare. Half centuries for Tim Smithies and Arslan Anwar saw them comfortably home, while 2022 runners-up Terenure had a tough battle with Knockharley but eventually found a way, and won by three runs.

The scorecards from most of the games can be found here (just filter the ‘Results’ tab by competition).



Read Next