Super Series squads announced for 2021 season

February 24th 2021 by Craig Easdown | International, Women

Super Series squads announced for 2021 season

Can Laura Delany lead the Typhoons to consecutive titles?

DUBLIN – In what is a big year for Irish women’s cricket, the squads have been announced for the Super Series 2021, which sees the return of several big names who spent last season overseas.

A recent announcement about the Super Series highlighted this season will see an increase in fixtures, the re-introduction of the T20 format, creation of new coaching hubs with increased coaching contact hours and two matches set to be played in Northern Ireland (COVID-19 dependent).

The series will additionally be split into two separate competitions – a 50-over Cup and a T20 Trophy competition – moving away from the previous multi-format, hybrid competition structure.


Coach: Clare Shillington

Laura Delany (captain), Ava Canning, Zara Craig, Rachel Delaney, Georgina Dempsey, Sarah Forbes, Rebecca Gough, Amy Hunter, Louise Little, Jane Maguire, Tess Maritz, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Rebecca Stokell, Mary Waldron.
Coach: Glenn Querl   

Gaby Lewis (captain), Alana Dalzell, Anna Kerrison, Shauna Kavanagh, Hannah Little, Sophie MacMahon, Lara Maritz, Naomi Matthews, Caoimhe McCann, Kate McEvoy, Cara Murray, Leah Paul, Una Raymond-Hoey, Jenny Sparrow, Siuin Woods.

Image: Gaby Lewis will be looking to lead her side’s fightback

Carrie Archer, Chair of National Women’s Selectors, said:

“Despite the challenges we faced in 2020, the Super Series was one of the strongest and most competitive in its six-year history. To watch the Typhoons, led by national captain Laura Delany, fight back to win their first title on the final day was really enjoyable and a credit to the Typhoons squad.” 

“We are entering a very busy year for Irish women’s cricket, with two world cup qualifier tournaments to compete in, so it’s crucial that we ensure the Super Series helps prepare our senior internationals for these big tournaments by providing a high quality, best v best competition.”

“With livescoring and livestreaming now promoting the series, we are starting to really show the world that the depth of talent in Ireland is increasing. This added exposure will be a source of inspiration for our younger players and is an opportunity to bring the excitement of the Series to a wider audience. It was great to see some of the new names – like Jane Maguire and Amy Hunter – were added to the senior women’s squad list off the back of great Super Series performances in 2020. And that is what this competition is about – a showcase of Irish talent and a springboard for the best players on this island to test themselves and progress their careers.”


While venue allocation work has commenced, and will be announced shortly, the confirmed dates of the Super Series are:

Super 50 Cup
  • 25 April 2021
  • 2 May 2021
  • 3 May 2021
  • 9 May 2021
  • 16 May 2021
  • 23 May 2021
  • 30 May 2021
  • 6 June 2021

Super 20 Trophy*
  • 25 July 2021
  • 1 August 2021
  • 8 August 2021
  • 15 August 2021

  * Dates to be confirmed in coming weeks



Read Next