2019 Toyota Super 3s fixtures released

April 17th 2019 | International, Women

2019 Toyota Super 3s fixtures released

Una Raymond-Hoey strikes a ball through the off-side

DUBLIN – Cricket Ireland has today released the fixture list for the 2019 Toyota Super 3s Series – Ireland’s premier domestic women’s cricket competition.

The Series comprises three teams – Dragons, Scorchers and Typhoons – who play a multi-format competition that encompasses 50-over and T20 matches.

In 2018 the Dragons took out the Championship for the second time in three years, led by Irish international Shauna Kavanagh. However, in a shake up to the teams in 2019, Kavanagh and her international compatriot Kim Garth have swapped camps, with Kavanagh set to lead the Scorchers and Garth the Dragons.

At the recent announcement of the 2019 squads Kavanagh spoke of her excitement at the new challenge:

“Quantifying the importance of the Super 3’s competition is difficult in that the impact and contribution the competition has already had - and will continue to have - for women’s cricket in Ireland is huge. One of the key contributions is the expansion of the existing player pool capable of progressing to the international stage. There have been some really impressive players coming through to the international set-up over the last two years partially resulting from the opportunities that the Super 3’s competition provides.”

“I think the Super 3’s pathway also provides women and girls across the country with a visible and attainable development structure that can only encourage and promote participation.” 

“I am looking forward to the fresh challenge the 2019 competition brings with the new structure of the squads. It gives individuals the opportunity to play against new opposition as well as the opportunity to learn from new individuals within their own squads. I am also excited to see the standard of this year’s competition given the strides it continues to make year on year.”

The fixtures

Super 3s

Download the fixtures list in PDF.

The squads

Dragons Squad
Kim Garth (Captain), Aoife Beggs, Aoife Brennan, Ava Canning, Alana Dalzell, Rachel Delaney, Anna Kerrison, Jane Maguire, Lara Maritz, Staci Maxwell, Eimear Mullen, Cliodhna O’Reardon, Clare Shillington, Jenny Sparrow, Kerry Tomlinson (overseas), Erica Turner, Mary Waldron, Sarah White. Coach: Clare Shillington.

Scorchers Squad
Shauna Kavanagh (Captain), Sadhbh Breslin, Sarah Forbes, Jennifer Gray, Jennifer Hanna, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Amy Kenealy, Ali Keenan, Gaby Lewis, Hannah Little, Sophie MacMahon, Tess Maritz, Caoimhe McCann, Cara Murray, Mya Naughton, Lucy O’Reilly, Rebecca Stokell. Coach: Andrew Poynter.

Typhoons Squad
Laura Delany (Captain), Aisling Byrne, Sarah Condron, Zara Craig, Amy Hunter, Vanessa Kelada, Maria Kerrison, Anna Kirk, Robyn Lewis, Louise Little, Naomi Matthews, Leah Paul, Orla Prendergast, Celeste Raack, Una Raymond-Hoey, Cassie Stephens (overseas), Cliona Tucker, Niamh Walsh. Coach: Tim Simmonite.

The first match in the series will see the defending champions Dragons take on the Scorchers on 19 May 2019 at North Kildare Cricket Club.

In a welcome initiative to further increase the visibility of the women’s domestic game in Ireland, this season will see the first fixture played north of the border when Typhoons and Dragons will meet at Holywood Cricket Club in July.

Read Next