Waringstown win Sunday Independent All-Ireland T20 Cup

August 18th 2018 by Peter Boyd | International, Other

Waringstown win Sunday Independent All-Ireland T20 Cup

Waringstown celebrate the title

Waringstown has won the Sunday Independent All-Ireland T20 Cup after a tense 7-run victory on DLS over Clontarf at Bready on Saturday.

Waringstown’s innings was impacted by the rain but openers Adam Dennison (61* runs off 42 balls, 7 x fours, 2 x sixes) and James Hall (66* runs off 48 balls, 5 x fours, 3 x sixes) built an imposing total for the NCU side.

Dennison and Hall were kept in check through the early overs as Clontarf’s experienced bowlers of Morrissey, Kelly and Islam, along with overseas professional Pienaar kept the Waringstown total to 44 off 8 overs.

However, when the accelerator was pressed Dennison and Hall went big, adding 90 runs in the next seven overs either side of further rain delays.

The final was now to be 15 overs a side and so with Waringstown making 134/0, the DLS calculations produced a revised target of 155 from 15 overs for Clontarf.

It was James McCollum who took the big wicket of Pienaar in just the second over, putting Clontarf immediately on the back foot.

When Waringstown’s main man Shaheen Khan took two wickets in an over and Gary Kidd then bowled Forrest, Clontarf’s task was almost beyond them at 41-4 after 5.1 overs.

Bill Coghlan (38* runs off 17 balls, 3 x fours, 3 x sixes) was batting a lone hand for Clontarf but had the power to take them close.

However, Waringstown weren’t to be denied. In the eighth over, Waqar Azmat was caught by Eaglestone in the deep, leaving Clontarf 73-5.

That wicket was to prove crucial as the rain returned with a vengeance to bring an end to play and when the DLS sheets were consulted, Waringstown were victorious and had secured the second All-Ireland T20 title.

Sunday Independent All-Ireland T20 Cup Final, 18 August 2018 at Bready CC
Waringstown 134-0 (15 overs; J Hall 66*, A Dennison 61*) - revised target 155 in 15 overs
Clontarf 73-5 (7.3 overs; B Coghlan 38*; G Kidd 2-3, S Khan 2-18)

Waringstown win by 7 runs on DLS


In the semi-final between Clontarf and Cork County, which was reduced to 10-overs-a-side due to morning showers, Clontarf had a 16-run victory.

Bill Coghlan top-scored with 55* runs (35 balls; 5 x fours, 3 x sixes) as the Dublin side racked up 93-3 off their allocation.

For County, both Carey and Anjum had figures of 1-12 off their two overs.

In reply, Cork County was going well at 28-0 before three wickets in six balls put Clontarf firmly in charge.

Despite an innings of 19 from Cormac Hassett, it was two wickets apiece from Kelly (2-12) and Dutt (2-14) that saw Clontarf through to the final with 16 runs to spare.

All-Ireland T20 Semi-Final, 18 August 2018 at Bready CC (10 overs/side)
Clontarf 93-3 (10 overs; B Coghlan 55*; D Carey 1-12, N Anjum 1-12)
Cork County 77-6 (10 overs; C Hassett 19; C Kelly 2-12, S Dutt 2-14)

Clontarf won by 16 runs

In the second semi-final, no play was possible between the home side Brigade and Waringstown. As a result, a bowl-out ensued to determine the finalist in the All-Ireland T20.

Waringstown recovered from two-nil down to triumph 3-2 in the bowl-out and progress to the final where they would meet Clontarf.


Read Next