Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier: What you need to know

November 17th 2021 by Cricket Ireland | International, Women

Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier: What you need to know

ICC Women's Cricket World Cup Global Qualifier

HARARE, Zimbabwe - Ireland Women’s cricket team is in Zimbabwe to compete in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Global Qualifier. Here’s what you need to know.

The Ireland Women’s squad


In addition, as part of Covid-19 protocols, the following players have been named as reserves:

  • Travelling reserve: Sarah Forbes
  • Non-travelling reserves: Alana Dalzell and Kate McEvoy

The ICC Women’s World Cup Global Qualifier

The schedule was recently announced for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Global Qualifier, with an official warm-up match against Pakistan. In addition, Cricket Ireland has arranged a further warm-up match against Thailand.

For the tournament proper, nine teams will compete for three places at the 2022 Women’s Cricket World Cup, set to be held in New Zealand (the tenth team, Papua New Guinea, withdrew this week and will not be replaced in the draw).

The Qualifier groups are:

  • Group A: West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands
  • Group B: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Thailand, Zimbabwe, USA

As a consequence of the Papua New Guinea withdrawal, the playing schedule has been amended from previous advice. Ireland Women’s playing schedule is:

  • 16 November: Ireland Women v Thailand Women (warm-up match, Old Georgians Sports Club; start 9.30am)
  • 19 November: Ireland Women v Pakistan Women (warm-up match, Harare Sports Club; start 9.30am)
  • 23 November: Ireland Women v West Indies Women (World Cup Qualifier Match 1, Old Hararians Sports Club; start 9.30am)
  • 25 November: Ireland Women v Netherlands Women (World Cup Qualifier Match 2, Old Hararians Sports Club; start 9.30am)
  • 29 November: Ireland Women v Sri Lanka Women (World Cup Qualifier Match 3, Sunrise Cricket Club; start 9.30am)

    * All times referenced are local to Zimbabwe

The top three teams from each group go to the Super 6 stage, with group stage points carrying over to the next phase. From there, the top three after the Super 6 stage will qualify for the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 being held in New Zealand next year, along with the hosts, Australia, England, South Africa and India, who have directly qualified for the event. As a bonus, the top five teams will also qualify for the next edition of the ICC Women’s Championship, which is expanding from eight teams to 10.


The ICC will livestream the matches on www.ICC.tv.


Livescoring will be available via Cricket Ireland’s Match Centre.

Pre-tournament interviews

  • Amy Hunter interview
  • Carrie Archer and Ed Joyce on squad selection

Video Updates







Read Next